Narrabri Shire Council

Narrabri Shire - Australia's Sportiest Shire

In 2001 Channel 9 conducted a search to identify Australia’s Sportiest town based on the sportspersons who have come from the town or district.

After much research and thousands of entries, Channel 9 awarded the honour to the NSW town of Narrabri. Over one hundred and ten Australian representatives and champions showcasing forty-four sports were either born in the Narrabri Shire or started their sporting career here.

The judges at the time of the competition were former Wallaby Peter Fitzsimmons, the then Federal Sports Minister Jackie Kelly and AFL legend Gary Ablett.

The awarding of the honour of Australia’s Sportiest Town was made at the time on live television by Channel 9 presenter Tracy Grimshaw

 Just a few notable names amongst the National and International Sports Stars emanating from Narrabri Shire are;

  • Jason Stoltenberg (Tennis)
  • Nira (Stove) Windeatt (Swimming)
  • Steve Elkington (Golf)
  • Chris Latham (Rugby Union)

Click below to view the full list of the Shires elite sporting people as entered in the Channel Nine Competition to claim the title of Australia's Sportiest Town.

 Australia's Sportiest Town List

In 2011, Narrabri Shire Council in co-operation with Channel 9 constructed Narrabri Shire Sporting Wall of Fame to make a permanent record of the achievements of the town and district sportsmen and women including those who were part of the original honour bestowed upon the town in 2001.

The official opening by the Mayor of Narrabri Shire Robyn Faber of the Sporting Wall of Fame was held on Saturday 1st October 2011 at 10:30am at Leitch Oval, Tibbereena Street Narrabri. The event was a great success with over 700 people in attendance.