Narrabri Shire Council

Comprehensive Local Environmental Plans (LEP)

Local Environmental Plans (LEP) are the principal legal document for controlling development at a Local Government level. The zoning provisions establish acceptability of uses and standards regulate the degree of development.

You can view the Narrabri Shire Council Local Environmental Plan on the NSW Legislation website.

Renaming Environment Zones

As part of changes to the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979, from 1 December 2021, reference to Environment Protection Zones E1, E2, E3 and E4 will become Conservation Zones C1, C2, C3 and C4 as part of the NSW Government’s Standard Instrument (Local Environmental Plans) Amendment (Land Use Zones) Order 2021.

A full description of the new zones can be found below: 

Current name New name
Zone E1 National Parks and Nature Reserves Zone C1 National Parks and Nature Reserves
Zone E2 Environmental Conservation Zone C2 Environmental Conservation
Zone E3 Environmental Management Zone C3 Environmental Management
Zone E4 Environmental Living Zone C4 Environmental Living