Local Traffic Facilities Committee

Liaison occurs at a local level through several Roads and Maritime Services Local Government regional consultative committees established to promote joint aims, resource sharing and collective action.

Roads and Maritime Services is legislated as the organisation responsible for the control of traffic on all roads in New South Wales under the Road Transport (Safety & Traffic Management) Act 1999.

Roads and Maritime Services delegation to Council limits the types of prescribed traffic control devices and traffic control facilities that Council can authorise and imposes certain conditions on Council. One of these conditions requires Councils to obtain the advice of Roads and Maritime Services and the Police prior to proceeding with any proposal. This is most commonly achieved by Councils establishing a Local Traffic Committee.

The committee is composed of four formal members each with one vote. These four members are a representative from Council, the Police, and Roads and Maritime Services and the Local State Member of Parliament or their nominee.

The Local Traffic Committee is an advisory body only, having no decision making powers. It is, primarily, a technical review committee that is required to advise the Council on traffic related matters referred to it by Council.

If you are aware of an issue regarding general road safety or signage that you would like raised with Local Traffic Facilities Committee, you will need to write a letter detailing your concerns. The issues raised in your letter will then be placed on the agenda for discussion and will be examined at the next meeting of the Committee. The Committee meets once a month and consists of representatives of Council staff, Councillors, Police, The RMS as well as an appointed representative of the Member for Barwan.

Recommendations from the public for this meeting must be submitted to the following meeting of Council for resolution. Appropriate action will be then be taken in accordance with the decision of Council.

Contacting Council

All correspondence relating to the Local Traffic Facilities Committee should be addressed to:

The General Manager
PO Box 261
Narrabri  NSW  2390

All other concerns or enquiries regarding road safety related matters can be directed to Council's Infrastructure Delivery Department.